RSP’s Indira Ranamagar elected HoR Deputy Speaker

KATHMANDU- Indira Ranamagar, leader of ruling Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP), is now the official Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives (HoR).

Ranamagar was elected as the HoR Deputy Speaker on Saturday. Out of the total 264 lawmakers present on Saturday, Ghimire got 166 votes from lawmakers of CPN-UML, Maoist Center, Rastriya Swatantra Party, RSP, Janata Samajwadi Party, Janamat Party, Nagarik Unmukti Party, and the independent lawmakers.

There were 97 votes against her. One lawmaker remained neutral in the election. Ranamagar was elected as a Member of the HoR under proportional representation category from RSP in the election held on November 20 last year.

Ranamagar had registered her candidacy for the Deputy Speaker on behalf of the ruling coalition on Friday afternoon. Nepali Congress candidate Mukta Kumari Yadav got 97 votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button