NC PP leader Shah appointed Sudurpaschim Chief Minister, swearing-in on Friday

KAILALI- Nepali Congress (NC) has made a comeback to province government with Sudurpaschim province parliamentary party leader Kamal Bahadur Shah being appointed the Chief Minister on Thursday.

Earlier, CPN-UML lawmaker Rajendrasingh Rawal lost his post of Chief Minister failing to receive a vote of confidence on Thursday.

Shah was appointed as the chief minister by the province chief Devraj Joshi. According to Sudurpaschim parliament secretariat, he is scheduled to take the oath of office and secrecy tomorrow.

Chief Minister Rawal could not get a vote of confidence after the members of the province assembly of the ruling party, Nagarik Unmukti Party (NUP), were absent in the province assembly meeting on Thursday.

In the 53-member Sudurpaschim Provincial Assembly, there are 19 MPs from NC, 10 from UML, 11 from the CPN-Maoist Center, seven from NUP, four from the CPN Unified Socialist Party and one from Rastriya Prajatantra Party. There is one independent lawmaker in the province.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button