EC confirms four vice-presidential candidacies

KATHMANDU- The Election Commission (EC) has confirmed the four candidacies for the election to the post of Vice- President scheduled for March 17.

Since none of the candidates withdrew their candidature within the set time for withdrawal, the candidature of all four candidates is retained.

Leader duo Pramila Yadav and leader Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav have been nominated for the post of vice president from Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP).

Similarly, Ashtalakshmi Shakya has nominated her name from CPN (UML) and Mamata Jha has registered her candidacy from Janamat Party.

The ten-party coalition that was unanimous in the presidential election was not united in the vice-presidential election. The decision of the Election Commission and the statement of the Chief Election Commissioner have made the alliance skeptic at the possibility of getting validity of Ram Sahaya Yadav’s  candidacy. Sahaya was presented as the coalition candidates. However, after getting the ambiguous statement of the Election Commission, JSP decided to field Pramila Yadav as well.

As NC senior leader Ramchandra Paudel was elected as the candidate of the Khas Arya group, so the vice president should be a person of a different gender or community,  an official at the Election Commission argued.

Despite being in the coalition, Dr. CK Raut-led Janamat party in consent with Loktantrik Samajbadi Party and Nagarik Unmukti Party fielded Mamata Jha as its candidate.

The election of the Vice-President will be held from the Electoral College consisting of the members of the Federal Parliament, the House of Representatives and the National Assembly and the State Assembly. The number of voters in the vice presidential election remains 882, with 332 from the federal parliament and 550 from the state assembly members.

The vote weightage of the federal MP is 79 and the vote weightage of the state assembly member is 48.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button